moulin a neige -title
kintsukuroi2
kintsukuroi1-title
cadavres exquis suspendus-title
simulation arc en ciel - title
glitched-title

Glitched /serial

Glitched is a set started in 2013. It is currently composed of two pieces composed as follows: in a smoked glass cube, which allows only very little light, is a diorama, a revival of a scene in volume, scaled. in Glitched#1, you can see a road, streetlights, trees, bushes, various urban elements and a house. (…)

selconsciousness-title
escape from morellet-title

Escape From Morellet

2550x100x100 cm + variable – 2014

nichoirs-title

Birdhouses

110x45x45 cm – 2014

Cadavres Exquis - Mathieu Schmitt - 2014 - détail

Cadavres Exquis

There are three plants, each one is connected by an electrode to an Arduino, controlling the tiny electrical changes in them. Interpreting these changes as a real desire of these plants, significantly different each time; they “choose” each a part of the exquisite corpse in a database, and once the three choices are made, it’s printed on the paper roll … ad lib.

module d'isolation / contemplation de données - 2013 - Julien Dutertre & Mathieu Schmitt

Isolation module / data contemplation

Julien Dutertre & Mathieu Schmitt / 2013

selfconsciousness1-title

Self-consciousness Red&Blue

Three electrodes are planted in three different branches of the shrub. Each captures minute electrical changes occurring in the plant. The data are interpreted and translated into wishes to have more / less light in any part, the variations are significantly different according to the light intensity received by the latter and its dominant color (blue or red). Thus, it is the shrub itself that controls the intake light, following an attempt to interpret these electrical signals as self-consciousness.

Oui Ja - 2013 - d=200cm - Mathieu Schmitt

Oui Ja

The wooden tray stands on three electric cylinders controlled by an Arduino. It interprets radio signals captured on the “Jurgenson” frequency (1485kHz) which is the frequency at which Friedrich Jurgenson has recorded most messages from deceased persons. By its own weight and according to the inclination of the plate, the arm rotates and indicates a letter, a number, (…)

poktapok3
tunnel-detail
35HDD-detail

35 Hard drive speakers playing the voice record of their own title expanded to the lenght of the exhibition

35 hard drives are modified to speakers. The shape of the installation may vary. the only fact that is important is to respect the title, wich is nothing else than the description of the installation: 35 hard drives speakers playing audio recording of their own title, registration stretched the length of the exhibition. [...]

I-IS-AN-OTHER---2012detail

I IS AN OTHER

2012 -polished stainless steel, MDF framework, magnets – 100 x 100 x 100 cm

rainbow-detail
topless-detail
Volume-detail
cohabitation-detail
protoarchitecture-detail
"Friedrich assis" - 2009 - 80 x 120 x 90 cm - Mathieu Schmitt

seated “Friedrich”

Seat version of the “Friedrich” installation, based on the principle of diffusion / capture of the “Jurgenson” frequency. Here the chair frame is connected to the radio antenna, and bodyshakers are fixed under the seat. In this way, the chair user is [...]

"Friedrich" - 2009 - variable - Mathieu Schmitt

“Friedrich”

This installation is based on the researches and works of Friedrich Jürgenson. Former opera singer, painter, he spent the end of his life to research and record the messages that deceased persons would send. In fact, he discovered that we captions better dead at 1485kHz: frequency that now bears his name. [...]

Outil Non Trivial #2 - 2008 - 180 x 120 x 100 cm - Mathieu Schmitt
2008ont11
hexapod-detail

Hexapod

irst nontrivial machine of the series, Hexapod came from a desire to invest the ceiling and flee the Real. What’s more natural than a vehicle to explore this unusual plan, based on the movement of cockroaches and [...]

Chamois-Scarabée - 2007 - 110 x 100 x 40 cm - Mathieu Schmitt

Chamois-Scarab

Chamois – scarrab is a part of the “provisional species,” defined and illustrated by French caricaturist Grandville. Illuminating the plexiglass sculpture reveals the whole process of creation. In fact, we obtain the three-dimensional technical drawing of the object on the ground, as well as patrons of the component parts to the wall. The sculpture here reveals totally itself despite of its ghostly and illusory appearance.

champi-detail

moulin à neige détail2
kintsukuroi #1 detail2
Mathieu Schmitt - Cadavres exquis suspendus - 2015
Simulation: arc-en-ciel - Mathieu Schmitt - 2015
glitched_cabane_03

Glitched /série

Glitched est une série commencée en 2013. Elle est actuellement composée de 7 pièces composées comme suit: dans un cube en verre fumé, qui ne laisse passer que très peu de lumière, se trouve un diorama, un système de reconstitution d’une scène en volume, à échelle réduite.

Self-Consciousness #1#2#3_title
SCHMITT_Mathieu_Escape from Morellet_2014_petit_title

Escape From Morellet

2550x100x100 cm + variable – 2014

Nichoirs title

Nichoirs

110x45x45 cm – 2014

Cadavres Exquis - Mathieu Schmitt - 2014 - détail

Cadavres Exquis

Trois plantes, reliées chacune par une électrode à un Arduino, contrôlant les infimes variations électriques les parcourant. Interprétant ces variations comme une réelle volonté de ces plantes, sensiblement différentes à chaque fois; elles “choisissent” donc chacune une partie du cadavre exquis, qui s’imprime ensuite… ad lib.

module d'isolation / contemplation de données - 2013 - Julien Dutertre & Mathieu Schmitt

Module d’isolation / contemplation de données

Julien Dutertre & Mathieu Schmitt / 2013

Self-Consciousness (Red & Blue) - 2013

Self-consciousness Red&Blue

Trois électrodes sont plantées dans trois branches différentes de l’arbuste. Chacune d’entre elles capte les infimes variations électriques se produisant dans la plante. Les données sont interprétées puis traduites en volontés d’avoir plus/moins de lumière sur telle ou telle partie, les variations étant sensiblement différentes suivant l’intensité lumineuse reçue par cette dernière et sa couleur dominante (bleue ou rouge). Ainsi, c’est l’arbuste lui même qui contrôle son apport en lumière, suivant une tentative d’interprétation de ces signaux électriques comme conscience de soi.

Oui Ja - 2013 - d=200cm - Mathieu Schmitt

Oui Ja

Le plateau en bois repose sur trois vérins électriques commandés par un Arduino. Ce dernier interprète les signaux radio captés sur la fréquence Jurgenson (1485kHz), qui est la fréquence sur laquelle Friedrich Jurgenson aurait enregistré le plus de messages de personnes défuntes. Par son propre poids et selon l’inclinaison du plateau, le bras pivote et indique une lettre, un chiffre, [...]

poktapok3
tunnel-detail
35HDD-detail

35 Hard drive speakers playing the voice record of their own title expanded to the lenght of the exhibition

35 disques durs modifiés en haut-parleurs. La forme de l’installation peut varier. Seul est important le fait de respecter le titre, qui n’est autre que la description de l’installation: 35 disques durs haut-parleurs jouant l’enregistrement audio de leur propre titre, enregistrement étiré à la durée de l’exposition. [...]

I-IS-AN-OTHER---2012detail

I IS AN OTHER

2012 – inox poli, coffrage medium, aimants – 100 x 100 x 100 cm

rainbow-detail
topless-detail
Volume-detail
cohabitation-detail
protoarchitecture-detail
"Friedrich assis" - 2009 - 80 x 120 x 90 cm - Mathieu Schmitt

“Friedrich” assis

Version assise de la pièce “Friedrich”, basée sur le même principe de diffusion /captation de la fréquence Jurgenson. Ici, l’armature du fauteuil est reliée à l’antenne de l’autoradio, et les bodyshakers sont fixés sous l’assise. De cette façon, l’utilisateur [...]

"Friedrich" - 2009 - variable - Mathieu Schmitt

“Friedrich”

Cette installation est basée sur les recherches et travaux de Friedrich Jürgenson. Ancien chanteur d’opéra, peintre, il consacra la fin de son existence à la recherche et l’enregistrement de messages que les défunts nous enverraient. En effet, il découvrit que nous captions mieux les morts à 1485kHz: la fréquence qui porte aujourd’hui son nom. [...]

Outil Non Trivial #2 - 2008 - 180 x 120 x 100 cm - Mathieu Schmitt
2008ont11
hexapod-detail

Hexapod

Première machine non triviale de la série, Hexapod est venu d’une envie d’investir le plafond et de fuir le Réel. Quoi de plus naturel qu’un véhicule à explorer ce plan inhabituel, basé sur [...]

Chamois-Scarabée - 2007 - 110 x 100 x 40 cm - Mathieu Schmitt

Chamois-Scarabée

Le chamois-scarabée fait partie des “espèces provisoires” définies et illustrées par le caricaturiste français du XIXème Grandville. Le fait d’éclairer la sculpture en plexiglas révèle tout le processus de création. En effet, nous obtenons le dessin technique tridimensionnel de l’objet au sol, ainsi que les patrons des pièces le composant au mur. La sculpture ici se “dévoile” totalement, malgré son aspect illusoire et fantomatique.

champi-detail