Mathieu Schmitt - Arrimage #08072017 - 2017 - photo: François Fernandez
Mathieu Schmitt - void setup(){//colonnes VGA - 2017 - photo: François Fernandez
moulin a neige -title
voidsetup-title

un Air de grand Verre: void setup(){

from 11/18/2016 to 12/30/2016
6 Place Wilson / Nice / France

cadavres exquis suspendus-title
simulation arc en ciel - title
les martyrs-title
gallerie issert - glitched - 001b

Glitched 1:1

The volume of the office of Catherine Issert gallery was modeled on a 3D software, then underwent alterations, following a relatively similar process as for the volumes of the “Glitched” series. Here, that glitch has been realized at a 1:1 scale, confronting the viewer’s body and surrounding works directly to the erroneous architectural volume.

selconsciousness-title
escape from morellet-title

Escape From Morellet

2550x100x100 cm + variable – 2014

Mathieu_Schmitt_Unpacked_LC2

Unpacked LC2

On the wall, 6 glass paintings. They seem at first view smooth, clear, precise (// cold), but many scratches, traces of adhesive tape and scales betray the human hand that has made them​​. (…)

module d'isolation / contemplation de données - 2013 - Julien Dutertre & Mathieu Schmitt

Isolation module / data contemplation

Julien Dutertre & Mathieu Schmitt / 2013

selfconsciousness1-title

Self-consciousness Red&Blue

Three electrodes are planted in three different branches of the shrub. Each captures minute electrical changes occurring in the plant. The data are interpreted and translated into wishes to have more / less light in any part, the variations are significantly different according to the light intensity received by the latter and its dominant color (blue or red). Thus, it is the shrub itself that controls the intake light, following an attempt to interpret these electrical signals as self-consciousness.

astérisque-2-detail
phantom-detail
"Friedrich" - 2009 - variable - Mathieu Schmitt

“Friedrich”

This installation is based on the researches and works of Friedrich Jürgenson. Former opera singer, painter, he spent the end of his life to research and record the messages that deceased persons would send. In fact, he discovered that we captions better dead at 1485kHz: frequency that now bears his name. [...]

* astérisque (1) - 2009 - dimensions variables

moulin a neige -title
voidsetup-title

un Air de grand Verre: void setup(){

du 18/11/2016 au 30/12/2016
6 Place Wilson / Nice

cadavres exquis suspendus-title
simulation arc en ciel - title
les martyrs-title
gallerie issert - glitched - 001b

Glitched 1:1

Le volume du bureau de la galerie Catherine Issert a été modélisé sur un logiciel 3D, puis a subi des altérations, suivant un parcours assez similaire aux volumes de la série “Glitched”. Ici, c’est à l’échelle 1:1 que ce glitch, ce bug, a été réalisé, confrontant le corps du spectateur et les œuvres alentour directement au volume architectural erroné obtenu.

selconsciousness-title
escape from morellet-title

Escape From Morellet

2550x100x100 cm + variable – 2014

Mathieu_Schmitt_Unpacked_LC2

Unpacked LC2

Au mur, 6 peintures sur verre. Elles semblent à première vue nettes, précises, lisses (// froides), mais de nombreuses griffures, traces de ruban adhésif, écailles trahissent la main humaine qui les a réalisées. (…)

module d'isolation / contemplation de données - 2013 - Julien Dutertre & Mathieu Schmitt

Module d’isolation / contemplation de données

Julien Dutertre & Mathieu Schmitt / 2013

selfconsciousness1-title

Self-consciousness Red&Blue

Trois électrodes sont plantées dans trois branches différentes de l’arbuste. Chacune d’entre elles capte les infimes variations électriques se produisant dans la plante. Les données sont interprétées puis traduites en volontés d’avoir plus/moins de lumière sur telle ou telle partie, les variations étant sensiblement différentes suivant l’intensité lumineuse reçue par cette dernière et sa couleur dominante (bleue ou rouge). Ainsi, c’est l’arbuste lui même qui contrôle son apport en lumière, suivant une tentative d’interprétation de ces signaux électriques comme conscience de soi.

astérisque-2-detail
phantom-detail
"Friedrich" - 2009 - variable - Mathieu Schmitt

“Friedrich”

Cette installation est basée sur les recherches et travaux de Friedrich Jürgenson. Ancien chanteur d’opéra, peintre, il consacra la fin de son existence à la recherche et l’enregistrement de messages que les défunts nous enverraient. En effet, il découvrit que nous captions mieux les morts à 1485kHz: la fréquence qui porte aujourd’hui son nom. [...]

* astérisque (1) - 2009 - dimensions variables